|
|
Phishing For Gmail Accounts
By Chris Richardson
Staff Writer
Article Date: 2004-09-13
It appears that there is a possible malicious email appearing in Gmail inboxes disguised as an invitation announcement. The mailing claims to be from the Gmail team and it "informs" the user that they have more invitations that can be given out.
This story was first reported by rustybrick at SearchEngineRoundTable.com, who discovered the email in his inbox. There are two reasons why the mailing, which looks like an official email from the Gmail Team, appears malacious. First, Gmail always puts new invite announcements in the mail console where users can easily see them.
The second reason for treating this mail as a fake is that it asks members to enter their Gmail user name and password in order "to claim their Gmail invitation package." Like rusty says, the fact that the mailing is asking for this information is reason enough for the alarms to go off. It certainly appears that someone is trying to acquire Gmail passwords.
Use this email at your own risk. A screenshot of the mailing, also courtesy of rustybrick, follows.
About the Author:
Chris Richardson is a search engine writer and editor for WebProNews. Visit WebProNews for the latest search news.
|